More than 100 California Electeds Endorse Rent Control

In Featured, News by Ged Kenslea

Support continues to grow for Justice for Renters ballot measure which comes before voters November 2024


LOS ANGELES (June 17, 2024) – More than 100 California elected officials, including Congressmember Maxine Waters, Congressmember Barbara Lee, Congressmember Ro Khanna, State Senator Ben Allen, State Senator Maria Elena Durazo, and Assemblymember Chris Holden, have endorsed the Justice for Renters Act, a November 2024 statewide ballot initiative that will allow for the expansion of rent control in California. The full list is below.

Other notable figures and groups who have endorsed Justice for Renters include the California Democratic Party, Senator Bernie Sanders (I-VT), labor and civil rights icon Dolores Huerta; UNITE HERE Co-President Ada Briceño; and Democratic National Committee Member Christine Pelosi.

The Justice for Renters Act is just 23 words: “The state may not limit the right of any city, county, or city and county to maintain, enact or expand residential rent control.” It would remove California’s statewide rent control ban and give local communities the right to stabilize rents and make apartments more affordable for low-income and middle-income renters.

“I proudly endorse the Justice for Renters Act because I believe every Californian deserves access to safe, stable, and affordable housing. Far too many of our neighbors live just a paycheck away from displacement and homelessness. The time to act is now,” said California state Senator Ben Allen (D-Santa Monica).

“We are so excited to have more than100 elected officials endorse our campaign from up and down the State of California and at every level of government,” said Justice for Renters campaign manager Susie Shannon. “Our campaign continues to gain momentum as more and more communities recognize that the rent is too high and people are suffering. Expanding rent control to stop price gouging by corporate landlords is one of the solutions to address California’s growing affordable housing crisis.”


California legislators who have endorsed Justice for Renters so far:


Jimmy Gomez, US House of Representatives, Los Angeles

Ro Khanna, U.S. House of Representatives, Los Angeles

Barbara Lee, U.S. House of Representatives, San Francisco

Maxine Waters U.S. House of Representatives, Los Angeles

Diane Watson US House of Representatives (Ret.), Los Angeles

Tony Vazquez, Member, CA Board of Equalization, Los Angeles

Maria Elena Durazo, CA State Senator, Los Angeles

Ben Allen, CA State Senator, Los Angeles

Chris Holden, Assemblymember, Los Angeles

Alex Lee,  State Assemblymember, Fremont

Aisha Wahab State Assemblymember, Sacramento

Tom Ammiano, Former Assemblymember, San Francisco

Aaron Peskin, President, Board of Supervisors, San Francisco

Dean Preston, Supervisor, San Francisco

Hillary Ronen, Supervisor, San Francisco

Gordon Mar, Former Supervisor, San Francisco

David Campos, Supervisor (Ret.), San Francisco

Jane Kim, Former Supervisor, San Francisco

Jorgel Chavez, Councilmember, Bell Gardens

Nick Schultz, Mayor, Burbank

Lisa Gauthier, Mayor, East Palo Alto

Eddie De La Riva, Mayor, Maywood

Tyller Williamson, Mayor, Monterey

Eduardo Martinez, Mayor, Richmond

James Coleman, Mayor, South San Francisco

Brian Calderon Tabatabai, Mayor, West Covina

John M Erickson, Mayor, West Hollywood

Mayra Aguiluz, Mayor Pro Tem, Maywood

Elizabeth Alcantar, Vice Mayor, Cudahy

Claudia Jimenez, Vice Mayor, Richmond

Vinnie Bacon, Former Mayor, Fremont

Santos Garcia, Former Mayor, Madera

Sue Himmelrich, Former Mayor, Santa Monica

Denny Zane Former, Mayor, Santa Monica

Paul Rosenstein, Former Mayor, Santa Monica

Judy Abdo, Former Mayor, Santa Monica

Kevin McKeown, Former Mayor, Santa Monica

Ruth Goldway, Former Mayor, Santa Monica

Michael Feinstein, Former Mayor, Santa Monica

Reverend James Conn, Former Mayor, Santa Monica

Claudia Jimenez, Vice Mayor, Richmond

Alan Haffa, Councilmember, Monterey

Gino Garcia, Councilmember, Monterey

Christopher Sturken, Councilmember, Redwood City

Carla Viviana Gonzalez, Councilmember, Salinas

Jessie Lopez, Councilmember, Santa Ana

Jonathan Ryan Hernandez, Councilmember, Santa Ana

Norma Alcala, Councilmember, West Sacramento

Jose Moreno, Councilmember, Anaheim

Marco Barcena, Councilmember, Bell Gardens

Sophie Hahn, Council Member, Berkeley

Konstantine Anthony, Councilmember, Burbank

Freddy Puza, Councilmember, Culver City

Bryan Osorio, Councilmember (Ret.), Delano

Carlos Romero, Councilmember, East Palo Alto

Ruben Abrica, Councilmember, East Palo Alto

Kalimah Priforce, Councilmember, Emeryville

Chance Cutrano , Councilmember, Fairfax

Stephanie Hellman, Councilmember, Fairfax

George Syrop, Councilmember, Hayward

Kevin de Leon, Councilmember, Los Angeles

Hugo Soto-Martinez, Councilmember, Los Angeles

Nithya Raman, Councilmember, Los Angeles

Juan Munoz-Guevara, Councilmember, Lynwood

Carroll Fife, Councilmember, Oakland

Dan Kalb, Councilmember, Oakland

John Nolte, Councilmember, Pomona

Gayle McLaughlin, Councilmember, Richmond

Melvin Willis, Councilmember, Richmond

Doria Robinson, Councilmember, Richmond

Benjamin Vazquez, Councilmember, Santa Ana

Omar Torres, Councilmember, San Jose

Peter Ortiz, Councilmember, San Jose

Sergio Jimenez, Councilmember, San Jose

Gleam Davis, Councilmember, Santa Monica

Caroline Torosis, Councilmember, Santa Monica

Cristina Arriola, Councilmember, Vallejo

John Heilman, Councilmember, West Hollywood

Lauren Meister, Councilmember, West Hollywood

Paul Koretz, Councilmember (Ret.), Los Angeles

Katie Valenzuela, Council Member (Ret.), Sacramento

Rigel Robinson Councilmember (Ret), Berkeley

Mike Bonin, Councilmember (Ret.), Los Angeles

Igor Tregub, Councilmember-elect, Berkeley

Vick Chung, City College of San Francisco Trustee, San Francisco

Anita Martinez, City College of San Francisco, Trustee, San Francisco

Steve Veres, Los Angeles Community College Board of Trustees

Nichelle Henderson, Los Angeles Community College Board of Trustees

Barbara Calhoun, Compton College Board of Trustees

Tina Fredericks, Board Member Pasadena Unified School District

Matt Alexander, Board of Education San Francisco

Leah Simon-Weisberg, Rent Board Member, Berkeley

Soli Alpert, Rent Board Member, Berkeley

Andy Kelley, Rent Board Member, Berkeley

Stefan Elgstrand, Rent Board Member, Berkeley

Xavier Johnson, Rent Board Member, Berkeley

Anastasia Foster, Rent Board Member, Santa Monica

Daniel Ivanov, Rent Board Member, Santa Monica

Kurt Gonska, Rent Board Member, Santa Monica

Dominique Walker, Rent Control Board, Berkeley

Ericka Lesley, Chair, Rent Control Board, Santa Monica

Arturo Rodriguez Leon, Poplar Community Services District Member

Spencer Brandt, Isla Vista Community Services District, Santa Barbara

Veronica Vazquez, Community Services District, Delano

Jovanka Beckles, AC Transit Director, Alameda County






L.A. Times Names AHF’s Lyle Honig Mojica Best CFO
AHF Files $50 Million Fraud Lawsuit Against Inovalon