Don’t Miss Us at C20!

In Global Featured, News by Julie Pascault

The Need For A Global Public Health Convention For The 21 Century

THURSDAY, OCTOBER 86:30 – 8:00 P.M (SaudiArabia standard time)

AIDS Healthcare Foundation (AHF) invites you to attend a virtual plenary session, “The Need for a Global Public Health Convention for the 21st Century,” being held during the virtual Civil 20 (C20) Summit, October 6-10.

REGISTER NOW
For the virtual C20 Summit to get access to the plenary on Oct. 8! Register

The COVID-19 pandemic is showing us that everything we thought we knew about global public health and pandemic preparedness is no longer valid:governments have failed; the UN system has failed; WHO has failed; the strongest health systems have failed. Nearly every aspect of life has been disrupted, including travel, tourism, trade, businesses, transportation, migration, employment, schools, and elections—among many other things.

As of September 19, 2020, among the 20 members of the G20, 19 countries plus the European Union account for 68% of COVID-19 cases and 80% of deaths globally. Therefore, during the upcoming G20 summit, there will be little doubt whether health will be included on the summit agenda and it must set the context for all other discussions at the G20.

In this truly global crisis, we are out of options – the world is in survival mode, and the time has come to redefine fundamental assumptions about multilateralism, international cooperation surrounding public health, and most importantly, the need for a new Global Public Health Convention for the 21st century

PANELISTS:
Dr. Stefano Bertozzi (Italy & USA)
Dean Emeritus & Professor of Health Policy and Management Co-Director,
Berkeley PublicHealth China Program
University of California,
Berkeley

Dr. Jorge Saavedra (Mexico & USA)
Executive Director,
AHFGlobal Public Health Institute
at the University of Miami
Former Head of National HIV
Program of Mexico (CENSIDA)

Akua Sena Dansua(Ghana)
UNITE’s Regional Chair for
Western & Central AfricaFormer Ambassador,
Minister, and Member of
Parliament of Ghana

Dame Barbara Stocking (United Kingdom)
President, Murray Edwards
College, University ofCambridge
Former Chief of Oxfam GB

MODERATORS:
Dr. Fatimah AlHamlan (Saudi Arabia)
C20 Global Health WorkingGroup Co-Chair
Scientist, Infection andImmunity Department at King
Faisal Specialist Hospital and
Research CentreAssistant Professor at the
College of Medicine at Alfaisal
University in Riyadh

Loretta Wong(Hong Kong & China)
Deputy Chief of Global Advocacy and Policy,
AIDS Healthcare Foundation

Los Angeles …………. 8:30 a.m.
Mexico City …………. 10:30 a.m.
New York City ………. 11:30 a.m.
London/ Abuja ……… 4:30 p.m.
Amsterdam ………….. 5:30 p.m.
Riyadh/Nairobi …….. 6:30 p.m.
New Delhi ……………. 9:00 p.m.
Beijing ………………….. 11:30 p.m.

Reusable Sanitary Pads Keep Zambian Girls in School
WhatsApp Boosts Dutch Client Interactions by 150%